Surat Premier League T-20 Kicks Off at Lalbhai Stadium

Young Players Get Opportunity to Play Alongside Renowned Ranji Trophy Players

Surat Premier League T-20 Kicks Off at Lalbhai Stadium

Surat's Lalbhai Stadium is set to host the Surat Premier League T-20 competition, organized along the lines of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The tournament, which begins this evening, offers young players the opportunity to play alongside around 40 players who have previously played or are currently playing in the Ranji Trophy for Gujarat.

Several well-known players, including Ripple Patel, Urvil Patel, Asad Pathan, Arjan Nagwaswala, and Parth Vaghani, have played in this tournament in the past two seasons, subsequently participating in different IPL franchises. Arya Desai will also join the ranks of the Rajasthan Royals.

Following the IPL model, the Surat District Association has selected 176 young players across eight teams through an auction system. Each team in the T20 tournament will comprise 17 players from Surat and five players from Gujarat. Each team has the opportunity to select 22 players in total, with local Surat youth players divided into different teams for Ranji Trophy games. Similarly, Ranji players from districts other than Surat will be seen playing alongside young players in the Ranji team.

This tournament will showcase renowned Ranji players from Gujarat and talented cricketers from the Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) region. The competition will be known as the Surat People's Cooperative Bank Awarded Surat Premier League 2023. A total of 32 matches, including three playoff matches and one final, will be played until April 9. GCA's U-19, U-21, and U-25 star players will play Ranji matches in Surat, with players selected at the Lalbhai Contractor Stadium of the Surat District Cricket Association.

Minister of State for Home Harsh Sanghvi will inaugurate the Surat Cricket League, organized by the Surat People's Bank Awarded and Surat District Cricket Association, on Saturday, March 18, 2023, at 6 PM at Lalbhai Contractor Stadium. Special guests will include Gujarat Cricket Association Minister Anil Patel, Treasurer Bharatbhai Zaveri, Dhirajbhai Jogni, Hiteshbhai Majumdar, and Surat People's Bank President Mukesh Dalal.

The eight participating teams in the tournament are Blue Warriors, Surat Strikers, Surat All Star, Dumas XI, Cash X MrSpots, Parth Tax, Patel Sports Association, and Surat Titans.