Jasprit Bumrah Becomes Third Highest Wicket-Taker for India in T20Is

Bumrah's performance against Pakistan in the ICC T20 World Cup secures him the milestone

Jasprit Bumrah Becomes Third Highest Wicket-Taker for India in T20Is

New Delhi - Indian fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has made history by becoming the third highest wicket-taker for India in T20 international cricket. He surpassed Hardik Pandya during the ICC T20 World Cup match against Pakistan at Nassau County International Stadium in New York, where India clinched a narrow six-run win.

In a stellar performance, Bumrah took three wickets for just 14 runs in his four-over spell, maintaining an economy rate of 3.50. His victims included Pakistan's captain Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, and Iftikhar Ahmed. This impressive feat brought Bumrah's total to 79 wickets in 64 T20 Internationals, with an average of 18.67 and an economy rate of 6.44. His best bowling figures stand at 3/11.

In comparison, Hardik Pandya, who now holds the fourth spot, has taken 78 wickets in 94 T20 Internationals, with his best figures being 4/16. Topping the list for India is spin veteran Yuzvendra Chahal with 96 wickets in 80 games, followed by swing specialist Bhuvneshwar Kumar with 90 wickets in 87 matches.

The match saw Pakistan win the toss and choose to field. Indian batsmen struggled on the challenging pitch, with star openers Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma scoring 4 and 13 runs, respectively. Rishabh Pant's 42 off 31 balls provided some resistance, supported by Axar Patel and Suryakumar Yadav. Despite their efforts, India was bowled out for 119 runs in 19 overs.

Pakistan's bowlers, Haris Rauf and Naseem Shah, each took three wickets, while Mohammad Amir and Shaheen Shah Afridi added to the tally.

In response, Pakistan's Mohammad Rizwan anchored the chase with 31 runs off 44 balls. However, Bumrah, along with Hardik Pandya, who took 2/24, dismantled Pakistan's lineup, taking crucial wickets including Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, and Iftikhar Ahmed. With 18 runs required off the final over, Arshdeep Singh's tight bowling ensured Pakistan fell short, securing India's six-run victory. Bumrah's match-winning spell earned him the 'Player of the Match' award.